Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Madonna Pulled a BEYONCE & Not Even Knowing It

An entire disc of MADONNA's new music has find it's way online early this morning!  13 full songs from Madonna's new album rumoured to be called "UNAPOLOGETIC BITCH" or "ICONIC" surfaced online and spread like wildfire all over the pop music communities.  Madonna has been in the studio for most of 2014 working on the new music. She has yet to announce the official album title or release date.  The songs that leaked were produced by AVIICI, DIPLO, NATALIA KILLS and RYAN TEDDER

We don’t know if it is the actual album or just a collection of demos but thirteen new Madonna songs leaked today. It looks like they are just demos because Madonna’s vocals are not clear and don’t seem mixed at all though. However, we decided to review the overall thing, as she is the Queen of Pop and this leak is a big event in the pop music world.
There are quite a few stunning tracks actually. Living For Love and its anthemic chorus that will remind you of the best 90s dance songs is one of them. It really is the best song of all and it will remind you of Disclosure’s singles (which can only be a good thing, right ?). It is the album’s supposed lead single and that would be the most clever choice.
Bitch, I’m Madonna and Unapologetic Bitch are really crazy-sounding (as their producer -Diplo- said a few days ago) but they actually sound so fresh and entertaining. Illuminati is also incredible and it’s nice to hear Madonna referring to her best enemy, Lady GaGa. The song’s beat is crazy and it could be a great tour opener.
There is also something that we would call a musical UFO in this album. Indeed, Make The Devil Pray's instrumental was inspired by folk music and well… We can't say we don't like it but it was very surprising. However, we loved the religious references in the lyrics. Revolution also starts with acoustic guitars and claps and would have fit perfectly in Madonna’s latino or gypsy parts during her tours.
And then there are the Avicii tracks. We already knew Wash All Over Me and even though it is fun and its lyrics are good, it really is not a good song. Addicted (The One That Got Away) is better but it still sounds really weird and quite dated. Hopefully it will be better with clearer vocals. The same can be said about Borrowed Time. We liked its acoustic intro but the rest screams Avicii. Rebel Heart is still amazing and should be track #1 on the finished product. Its lyrics sum up the album’s atmosphere pretty well.
Finally, the collection also include some ballads and that is where you realize the most that you are listening to demos. For example, Messiah could be grandiose but Madonna’s voice is not deep enough. We loved the orchestra part though. Joan Of Arc sounds unfinished too (but that is fair considering it was not supposed to leak). The lyrics are really beautiful though and it unveils Madge’s unsuspected vulnerability. The last song was Heartbreak City and it is one of the best tracks of the pack. Once again, Madonna decides to be honest and to drop the mask. The lyrics are indeed heartbreaking.
The variety of this album is quite astonishing. It is not all about dance music like MDNA was (thanks God !) and it has a very introspective vibe (mostly because of the lyrics and the guitars playing throughout the entire thing). In our opinion, Avicii is way too present but hopefully the final thing will not include some of his songs. The first album who comes to our minds when we listen to these new songs is American Life and considering it is our favorite Madonna album, it can only be a good thing.
However, we can’t give it a grade because we did not listen to it in a particular order chosen by Madonna herself and because it is not finished yet. It does not even have a title.
Madonna’s team should react very quickly and rush-release the finalized album to iTunes in the next days if they don’t want really messy sales though. Still, congrats to the Queen of Pop for delivering such a heartfelt piece with experimental and crazy-sounding tracks 


01. Unapologetic Bitch
02. Bitch I'm Madonna
03. Addicted (The One That Got Away)
04. Borrowed Time
05. Heartbreak City
06. Illuminati
07. Joan Of Arc
08. Living 4 Love (Carry On)
09. Make The Devil Pray
10. Messiah
11. Rebel Heart
12. Revolution
13. Wash All Over Me

Please let me finish my work so I can give you my very best! Respect art and the process.

— Madonna.